Tags

, ,

Update: Mom has been wearing this top everyday since I finished it on the 10th. She loves it that much!

Being sick was no fun. Fabric was already cut, sewing area prepped, and I sat there with a migraine for hours. (not efficient at all)

Mom’s Renfrew is a view C with the cowl collar and long sleeves. We shortened the torso by 2″ and the sleeves by 4″. The waistbands are a nice touch.

I am treading into new area with this stretch fabric project. I referred to Sewaholic’s blog for new techniques. This time I learned to:

  • Sew stay tape on the back shoulder seam allowance to avoid skin scratching
  • Basting to keep things in place, machine basting on the longest stitch works
  • Reinforce seams with zigzag stitches
  • Invest on ‘stretch’ sewing needles

This pattern was a pleasure to sew. It is simple with minimal to no frustration involved. (Only frustration I had was with my machine, will post that next) The waistband and sleeve cuffs eliminates the need to hem, plus they turn a simple knit top into a garment that “Looks Expensive”. Oh the things Project Runway has taught us since 2004… Anyone know of a blog with classic Project Runway gifs?

Icy

