Tags

, ,

Tilly from Tilly and the Buttons compiled a post of techniques on how to sew a dart from various sewers. It’s cool to see how other people tackle the same problem. Whenever I sew Sewaholic’s Alma, it takes a good hour to mark, pin, and sew the darts. There are 6 darts, 2 side bust darts, 2 in the front, and 2 in the back. I’ve been trying out new methods on my Almas and some fare better than the other.

Let’s go through the list. I’ll share my experience on them.

The Tilly

This was the first technique I learned. It’s nice when the fabric doesn’t slip around as you sew. There’s an urge to do a few backstitches at the beginning though. My problem with this was I wasn’t sure if I’m still sewing straight as the area becomes more narrow.

The Christine

I read this before but didn’t know the effects of the small stitches compensates for the hand-tied knot. Would try this out when I sew on quilting cotton.

The Katie

This is new to me. Looks like the stitches after the pivot hides all the ends in a nice manner. This would be interesting to try.

The Kristen

This technique was featured on the Coletterie. I tried this method last night whilst sewing with lace. The lace has a bit of stretch so it’s a bit temperamental; refuses to fold with ironing, slides around, and fidgets after pinning. So I used this method to reduce the pinning and hope for a straight line. To my surprise, the dart looks really nice. Using the thread as a guide ensures the dart is straight.

The Anna

Dad mentioned sewing darts with a curve to make it more wearable. Will try this on garments needing a bit more shape.

The Marie

This is my go-to method. It looks odd to start at the tip but it ensures there won’t be a ‘nipple bubble’. Only down side is a bit of tangle between the needle and bobbin threads. That can be remedied by holding onto the ends in the first couple stitches.

Learning a couple extra techniques is very helpful. Just look at all the solutions for sewing a dart. There’s no fixed way, it depends on preference.

Icy

