Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I started sewing Mom’s Holiday Wardrobe in late November. With 4 tentative parties to attend in the 3 weeks before Christmas, I had to space out sewing time to focus on school papers and projects.

This time I focused on long-sleeve lengths so they can be worn as transition pieces. Mom mentioned the lack of dresses in her wardrobe so I tried out a new made mock-wrap dress pattern. Now to be more creative with giving each garment a special name aside from just their colour.

Black Lace with Purple/White Chrysanthemum Alma-Laurel

Front
BackFabric

The fabric was bought in late 2011 from Dressew, a black flower lace with purple/white chrysanthemum printed on top. The lace has a slight stretch to it and is iron unfriendly. The sheer is minimal but a light-coloured tank top can up the wow factor.

Construction and Alternations

We each have our own favourite features from our beloved pattern companies; Sewaholic’s Alma and Colette’s Laurel pattern. Mom likes the silhouette of Colette’s Laurel whereas I like the neckline and sleeves of Sewaholic’s Alma. We based this blouse on the Laurel pattern and took Alma’s neckline and long sleeves with placket.

Self-Fabric Bias Tape

The neckline is binded by a self-fabric bias tape. Because the tape was very uncooperative in becoming a bias tape, I hand-stitched it in place.

Buttons

A set of buttons called for me as I spun through the button racks at the fabric store. I couldn’t justify taking them home cause they were too flashy for everyday wear. When I finished the cuff and placket on the sleeves, I knew those buttons were meant to be for this garment. Instead of making buttonholes, 2 snaps were stitched on each cuff to keep them closed.
Sleeve Cuff

Crazy Blue and Yellow Renfrew

Front
Back

Fabric

My parents picked out this fabric when I was at work. The print pounced at me when I took it out from the bag; like a peacock showing off its colours with the glaring eyes of a jaguar. Stretch-knit means it is automatically a Renfrew.

Construction and Alternations

No changes since I last made a Renfrew. The bodice length was a bit long when Mom wore it but it might have been the colour.

Purple/Red/Yellow Mock Wrap Dress

Front
Back

Fabric

The fabric was intended for another Renfrew…yes, another one. It was time for something different. Simplicity 1653 is a mock-wrap dress from Simplicity’s Amazing Fit collection. The pattern comes with 2 skirt lengths and 3 sleeve varaitions. We went with just over the knee and flared sleeves. Mom rarely (if ever) wears dresses. This was a nice change and I’m sure it will look nicely with boots in Fall and sandals in Summer.

Construction and Alternations

TieI stray from anything wrap due to 3 reasons.

  1. Does the placement of the wrap go under or over the boob?
  2. What if things loosen up for a possible *gasp* wardrobe malfunction?
  3. The knot is too heavy and sags everything down.

The pattern fits nicely with no major alterations. There is no gaping neckline and the knot’s bulk is minimal. In the future, I would shorten the overlap portion by an inch to make it hug closer to the body.

Final Thoughts

Mom really enjoyed these 3 garments. The feedback was positive with Mom wanting more Laurels and Renfrews. The long-sleeve Alma looks like a brand new pattern; different from the short sleeve version…Ooh!! Can’t wait to make one for myself.

Icy

