Tags

, ,

Though it has been over a week…I am still starstruck from meeting my sewing idols.

I was overjoyed when Tasia of Sewaholic mentioned The Sewtionary will be published into an actual book. The Sewtionary lives on the Sewaholic blog as an invaluable sewing resource. Whenever I come across a new term or technique, it was the place to go. (Google search is second) After the announcement, it was time to play the book launch waiting game.

In mid-June, Spool of Thread announced they are offering a preorder on the book for $25.99 and will be hosting a book launch for The Sewtionary on Saturday, July 12 AND Tasia would be there . *inner fangirl scream* Sadly, I didn’t know if I had to work that day… so I held off on the preorder till I knew it would be a day-off. When my parents learned of the book launch, they suggested a Belcarra top to match my recently finished Hollyburn (with fabric from Spool of Thread). So it on the sewing machine I went while containing the joy of meeting my sewing idols.

Day of the book launch was a family affair as my parents and brother tagged along. (It was hard to contain the ‘kid in the candy store’ excitement)

When I stepped into the store, I heard a collective gasp; my gasp was the “OMG! There’s Tasia!!” and I think others were “That’s a Sewaholic pattern!“. It was exciting to see others wear their me-made items and name the pattern. I really enjoyed going through the racks of samples from current and future patterns (2 new patterns for July). Seeing the results from different fabrics makes me want to explore beyond cotton. Plus I loved how I could compare myself to the length of the finished garment. Say for Sewaholic dresses, I should shorten by 4”.

Meeting Tasia and Caroline was up there. I actually met my sewing idols. The Sewaholic herself.

Meeting Sewaholic

Tasia signs my copy of The Sewtionary

I cannot thank them enough for creating patterns that are easy to sew for the modern seamstress with classic styles. The last 16 patterns (as of writing) has given me self-confidence, a hobby, and a wardrobe made by me for Mom and Me. So far, I have sewn 11 Sewaholic patterns with many remakes and counting.

There are more photos from the Book Launch Party on the Sewaholic blog. In case you’re interested in getting your own copy, The Sewtionary can be purchased from Sewaholic Patterns. The book is a great resource for sewers of all levels.

Icy

