Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s time to go over the list for ‘Best of 2014’. This year’s list will build on last year’s Best of 2013. Again, the Top 3s are chosen based on my sewing experience in 2014.

Best of Patterns

Sewaholic BelcarraSewaholic Hollyburn New Look 6000

Sewaholic Belcarra

This pattern only takes 1m of fabric if binding the neckline with bias tape. The raglan sleeves are quick to sew and the cuffs makes the shirt more polished. The option to colour block is easy with the sleeves. So far I have 4 Belcarras and it’s not slowing down.

Sewaholic Hollyburn

The cut of this pattern makes it versatile in various lengths. I have made 3 version (short, above the knee, on the knee) and they each wear differently. It matches well with the Belcarra tucked in.

New Look 6000

When in need of a tried and true pattern at crunch time, this was the pattern I went for. This sheath dress is simple with sleeve and collar options. The gathers on the side makes it more unique.

Best of Notions/Tools

Iron

I spent more time pressing than actual sewing (as evident from this post). The difference a quick press can make, especially on french seams.

Glass-head Silk Pins

This is an upgrade from last year’s magnetic pins. The glass-head can be ironned on directly and leaves almost no-hole with its fine point.

Bias Tape

Garment length and fabric saver. I keep a healthy supply of them in beige and ivory as they are easy to match.

Best of Organization

No major changes this year in storing sewing supplies. Everything kept the same.

Best of Technique

Edgestitching

When Peter of male pattern boldness wrote about his FIT class, he mentioned learning how to edgestitch on a zipper foot. I tried it out and the results are amazing.

Seam Finishing

One of my ongoing improvements of 2014 was to finish the seams. I realized the importance and value of finishing seams after the clothes were laundered. The Sewtionary has a section dedicated to most of the finishing techniques you can think of.

Interface

I took advantage of the 50% off interfacing sale to try out the variety. So far I use the stiffer interface for waistbands and the usual for facings.

Best of Tutorials

Sewaholic Belcarra BadgeSewaholic Lonsdale BadgeSewaholic Saltspring Badge

Sewaholic Belcarra Blouse

Sewaholic Hollyburn Skirt

Sewaholic Saltspring Dress

These tutorials made me go “I learned something new”, “So that’s how you do it”, and “I can try this out on my next make”. I like to read sew-alongs first before committing myself to the pattern. Ultimately, these ones made an impact on my decision to purchase the pattern AND sew the garment. There were many tutorials this year but these are my Top3s

Best of Blogs

Sewaholic

It was a thrill to meet the Sewaholic herself at the book signing. Where would I be if it didn’t start here.

Coletterie

Sarai began the year with the Architect Wardrobe, a 14 week exploration on personal style and wardrobe decisions. There is a lot going on in the series but every bit is meaningful.

Male Pattern Boldness

I can’t get enough of Peter’s bold fabric choices for button-up shirts.

This is a good list of Top 3s. Thank you to everyone and everything for helping/inspiring me to sew in 2014.

Icy

