Tags

, ,

On my way back to work from lunch, I walked briskly through the halls of the local mall to reach my target 10,000 steps a day. As usual, I would slow down as I pass by a new window display. My eyes would wander to check out the new stuff as my mind deciphers the design. Something caught my eye at the last store, hence instead of leaving the mall, I entered the storefront and made a bee-line directly to the rack.

The lucky item is a H&M $14.95 jersey dress with a V princess seam dress with a V-neckline plus comes in 4 colour options, 3 printed and 1 solid.

H&M Jersey Dress

Now I know the cut of the dress is very common with the princess seams and a V-neck but what prompted me to go over to check it out is how it looks like a twin of my beloved 2247.

The Simplicity 2247 is one of my Tried-And-True patterns (also a part of my Best of 2013). I have made 3 versions and the 3rd one gets the most wear (sleeveless in linen with lowered waistline). The dress has become my staple travel dress; the linen is easy to care for, keeps me cool, and matches my funky hot pink-coral sneakers. The only downside to linen is the insane amount of wrinkles I get even after rolling it up in my luggage. Now if I have a jersey version of that dress….

I told Mom about the dress and she suggests I try it out since I’m comfortable in that cut. So I went back to H&M the next day after work to try on the dress. The Medium was a bit loose around the bust so I tried out the Small. The small fits but I didn’t feel happy in it. The 98% Polyester 2% Elastane feels alright on the hand but scratchy on the skin. When I looked into the mirror, I knew it wasn’t for me. The only wow I got is how low the V-neck is but overall, it was a ‘meh‘.

When I showed Mom the dress

She asked, “Do you want to spend the $15 on fabric instead?”

I replied, “No, I rather spend $30 on better fabric for something I will love.”

When I first wore my linen dress, I felt comfortable with a big smile. I sometimes get this feeling when trying out RTW but not with this one. While the dress didn’t work for me, I do hope it will bring joy to others. The $15 price tag is wallet friendly but even if I bought it, it will only sit in the back of my closet and serve as a reminder of the experience.

With this experience, I left the store empty-handed but with the determination to make something that will make me feel loved and happy.

Icy
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

